Click here to skip to navigation Click here to skip to page content Click here to skip to delegate sign in Click here for contact details Click here for Homepage

Who We Are

Who We Are

The international Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is the professional association of all Commonwealth parliamentarians, an active network of over 17,000 parliamentarians from 175 national, state, provincial and territorial Parliaments and Legislatures.

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association UK Branch (CPA UK) is one of the largest and most active branches in the CPA community and delivers a unique annual programme both in Westminster and overseas. Governed by an Executive Committee of parliamentarians from all main parties and with a membership of Members from both Houses of Parliament, CPA UK undertakes international parliamentary outreach on behalf of the UK Parliament and the wider CPA.

With a specific focus on parliamentary diplomacy and parliamentary strengthening activities, CPA UK seeks to foster co-operation and understanding between parliaments, promote good parliamentary practice and advance parliamentary democracy.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of parliamentarians from both the House of Commons and the House of Lords elected at the Annual General Meeting. It also includes two sub-committees, the Finance, Audit and Remuneration Sub-Committee and the Policy, Plans and Programmes Sub-Committee.

The Executive Committee will be elected at CPA UK's 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM), which will take place on 12 July.  

Presidents and Chair of the Branch

The Presidents of CPA UK are the Lord Speaker and the Speaker of the House of Commons. The Prime Minister, Rt Hon. Theresa May MP, is ex-officio Chair of the Branch.

Latest News

Parliamentarians from Africa and Asia-Pacific pledge to do more to tackle modern slavery


Election Assessment Mission, UK 2017 General Election- Final Report


Election Observation Mission Presents Final Report on Cayman Islands One-Person-One Vote 2017 Elections



Future Programmes

11 Sep 2017

Commonwealth Symposium on Trade and Prosperity


08 Oct 2017

The 9th Commonwealth Youth Parliament, British Virgin Islands


12 Dec 2017

Modern Slavery Project: Legislative Drafting Seminar


Follow CPA UK

Follow Commonwealth Parliamentary Association UK on twitter Follow Commonwealth Parliamentary Association UK on Linkedin